Home Cannabis Hey California, Know Your Weed Laws

Hey California, Know Your Weed Laws

Easy Guide To CA's 2018 Cannabis Laws

SHARE

Starting January 1st, 2018, the largest legal marijuana market (AKA California) will go “recreational.”  In other words, you will be able to walk into a licensed dispensary with just an I.D. vs. needing a “recommendation” from a physician.  With these forthcoming changes, there are a grip of new rules, or “emergency regulations,” rolling out — courtesy of three separate state agencies: the Department of Health, Department of Food and Agriculture, and the Bureau of Cannabis Control.

While some in the cannabis industry are concerned that these new rulings (in addition to high taxes) could keep the black market thriving, California is estimated to grab $1 billion in taxes next year. 

Here are some of the key takeaways from the new regulations: 

EDIBLES

  • Edible products must be produced in serving sizes that have no more than 10 milligrams of THC.
  • No more than 100 milligrams of THC for the total package.

Keep on mind, some edibles on the market today contain 1000 milligrams of THC for the total package, so, this should cut down visits to the emergency room for new-to-casual users with low tolerance levels.

CONCENTRATES

Vape cartridges, concentrates, tinctures, and topicals can contain up to 1000 milligrams of THC per package (for recreational users.) For those with medical recommendations, products can go up to 2000 milligrams of THC per package.

DISPENSARIES 

  • Licensed dispensaries can only be open from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m.
  • Customers will have daily purchase limits at licensed dispensaries capped at 28.5 grams of flower, 8 grams of concentrates, and six immature plants, or “clones.” That’s A LOT of weed.
  • Products that need to be chilled below 41 degrees cannot be sold (except for some juices.)
  • Only licensed dispensaries will be allowed to give away free cannabis products — and, to medical patients, or their caregivers, only.
  • Through July 1st, licensed dispensaries will still be able to sell products that haven’t been tested or put in child-resistant packaging. After the 1st of July, all products must be tested and put in child-resistant packaging.

DELIVERIES

  • Deliveries will be permitted only by employees of licensed retail centers, or dispensaries.  In other words, independent deliveries are done (except on the black market.)
  • Delivery vehicles may not contain more than $3,000 of cannabis product at any time and deliveries must be made in person by a licensed employee.
  • Police may enlist individuals under the age of 21 — or, Narcs — to attempt purchases of cannabis to ensure licensees and employees do not sell to minors.